Prez Sez February 2018

Prez Sez February 2018

Welcome to our new Board members - Marie Gamon, Wendy Keller, Lori Lute-Beahm, Suzi Moll, David Pringle, and Kathy Smeltzer. The Officers for 2018 are: Cindy Ankney, President; Kathleen Grim, Vice-President; Chris Slates, Secretary, Mary Lott, Treasurer. This month I want to share our Annual Report:

Annual Report 2017

Hershey Area Art Association

There were 8 monthly meetings (March was cancelled due to snow)

Nineteen classes/workshops were offered with a total of 186 participants

We participated in/orchestrated 15 show/sale events

There is a combined total of $15,824 in our checking/savings accounts

Community Activities

Presented our annual art scholarship of $1000 in May

Carried out a children's activity at Block of Art in Pottsville

Hosted dinners and provided hats/socks for Hope Lodge cancer patients

Participated in Hershey Partnership's Annual Soup Cook-Off

Art was hung in sensitive areas of the Hershey Medical Center through Center Stage

Contributed Non-Perishable food to Hershey Food Pantry

Members donated art work for various fund raising events

Paid for subscription of Painters & Illustrators magazine to Hershey Library

Board Motions

Built guide lines for considering possible venues as they become available

Built guidelines for hanging and displaying art at venues

Purchased shelving for supply closet in Society building

Purchased a microphone for meetings

Placed an Advertisement in Central Pa's Arts Magazine

Changed the process for receiving payments to classes

Membership voted to raise ceiling for checks written by Treasurer to accommodate changing class payments process

Joined the PA Association of Non-Profit OrganizationsIt was a busy, productive year. Thank you for your support in making our Association a gem, and we look forward to another progressive year.

Membership Renewal is still in process. Please, remember to send in your membership dues if you will be unable to attend February's meeting. HAAA, P.O. Box 654, Hershey, PA 17033


Cindy Ankney, President